Bild
After the seminar in Rascafría Sabrina, Jovana (a volunteer from Serbia who is doing her EVS in A Coruña) and I went for two nights to Madrid and visited Segovia on our way back. We stayed in the flat of a Swedish-Peruvian couple I met during the Couchsurfer meeting on the Cies Islands in June. 
Altough I've been slowed down by a pretty bad cold I gotta say that I (still) really love Madrid. It's a beautiful city and I could easily imagine living there for a while.
Miranda and Miguel warmly welcomed us and I was glad they made me feel at home as I felt so exhausted. 
There is a quite peculiar language story about the two them: They met in France so they usually speak French with eachother. Miranda knows Swedish of course and now, as she is living in Spain, also Spanish. They both speak a very good English and Miguel lived in Germany for a while as well, so he knows German as well...
French,
Spanish,
English,
Swedish,
German
...a clash of cultures!


Segovia is a Roman influenced town with an old city and Aqueduct that were declared World Heritage by UNESCO. It is sorrounded by mountains and definitely worth a visit. Especially at night the town is beautifully illuminated.
On our way back in train Sabrina and I were (as always) chatting in Spanish. After a while the person who sat in front of us asked why we were talking in Spanish. He probably noted our accents that additionally differ from one another. We were a little perplexed by this question and told him it simply was the language we both knew. 
Thinking about it, it might actually really seem strange listening to people who talk in a language that clearly is not their mothertongue. You expect them to speak either one of their languages or English.
Well, it made me smile :)

Last weekend we went to visit Diego (who showed us the monasteries near Ourense) in Pontevedra. It was a lovely and surprisingly warm day at the coast. 
In Germany you probably wouldn't get such a nice day in December.



Leave a Reply.