Why is the weather the small talk topic number one? Why does everyone talk about the rain and the sun and the temperature? Well, because it affects us! Our mood is always at least partly influenced by the weather outside and this is why I am going to tell you about the lovely spring that is making the mimosa blossom and the fog vanish. Right after carnival some kind of thermic front hit Spain (and as it seems also the rest of Europe) and brought us warm sunlight and colourful flowers in the park.

However, now step by step.
First Sabrina and I held our "upcycling" workshop:
Then my mum and my sister went to Cáceres in the Extremadura and I quite spontaneously visited them for three nights, driving to the south with blablacar, which is an Europe-wide car sharing website. Unfortunately it was not as warm as I hoped it would be but nevertheless I enjoyed it a lot to see some more of the diverse landscapes of Spain.
On my way back on monday I spent a few hours in Salamanca. It is a beautiful city with an amazing old town. I can only imagine how nice it has to be to visit it in summer or study on that awesome campus which is situated right in the center in the old sandstone buildings.
Bild
On that same Monday then I went directly to a little Galician town called Xinzo de Limia to meet up with Sabrina, Flo and Luismi to celebrate the carnival. 
We decided to dress up as Alice in Wonderland characters. The Mad Hatter, the Queen of Hearts, the White Rabbit, the Cheshire Cat and...well...unfortunately we did not have our Alice as Gwen couldn't come. So we were not "Alice in Wonderland" but "The Madmen of Wonderland".
Carnival here in Spain is very similar to the carnival in Germany. There are some regions where it is a really big thing and in no way inferior to the carnival in Cologne or Mayence. Parades, music, everyone (but really everyone) in costumes! And then there are other places where you might...maybe...only with a lot of luck...spot someone with a clown's nose ;)
Of course there are some rituals or traditional costumes which differ from what yoz find in Germany but in Xinzo I sensed the same madness in the air as in Cologne.


Aaaaaaand our second Fimo workshop:

About two hours ago Gwen and Flo went home to France. So Sabrina and I are alone again. It was very nice to have some company here. It was quite obvious that two months are very little time to spend abroad. They just got used to everything and started to feel comfortable and then they had to leave. 
However, I will never forget these moments worthy a good old joke:
An Italian, a Frenchman and a German are sitting at a table having a conversation in Spanish...




Leave a Reply.