What a breathtaking view! One week with my dad hiking in the Picos de Europa right at the borderline of Asturia, Cantabria and Castilla y Leon. We met in Oviedo, rented a car and drove along the northern coast of Spain to a little submontane town called Potes. I went by train to Oviedo which is (compared to Germany) very cheap but a little more difficult to book, if you want to have the best price. And who doesn't? If you, for example, have to change trains and you've got less than an hour to do so they mark it with big red letters on the website. At home I sometimes haven't more than a few minutes to run from one platform to another. I enjoy discovering small differences between my home country and Spain like this one, for instance. I think it definitely tells something about a country and its people. The Spanish also have a special word for "getting up early" which is "madrugar". So getting up early might be (or might have been) something unpleasant and worth to be especially mentioned and therefore they have an own expression for that. However, these are only speculations! It would be interesting to know where this word comes from.
I guess the best way to tell you about my trip is showing you the pictures! So here we go:
These mountains are simply fantastic and we had a great time! Most of these wonderful pictures were taken by my dad :) If you would like to know some more details about the routes or something else, because you might be interested in going on vacation in the Picos de Europa, don't hesitate to contact me!
Bild
Walking trough the light of the setting sun on our way back from one of my best mountain hikes. Tired but happy
After the holiday with my dad I went directly to a village called Frómista in Castilla y Leon to visit some other volunteers. I tell you all about it in the next post!



Leave a Reply.