The super hot days are over, we enjoy the summer with only over 30°C every day, we have two fans in the flat and from time to time exciting summer storms! It's awesome to watch them from our balcony. The first and strongest one was just crazy! There were raindrops flying up instead of down and evevn big hailstones (remember...over 30°C!) I tried to catch. Sabrina made a nice snapshot of this :)
Aren't these clouds impressive?

But I digress...what I actually wanted to tell you was a little bit about my work here. So, here we go!
According to my "Activity Agreement", in which all the terms and conditions of my EVS are stated, I have to work 5 hours a day and 5 days a week for the office. This means Monday to Friday from 9:30 to 14:30. Sabrina (my flatmate) and I walk to work. It takes us about 10 minutes. 
A big part of our job is office work. OMIX coordinates exchanges and projects for young people from this region here and sends them abroad. For this we have to apply for projects, find participants, organise their travel, prepare them, etc. So there is quite some mailing and paper work to do. This is the not so exciting part of my job. 

It's a three floor building. Very narrow. This is the view I have from my working desk. 
We also do language classes. The English classes already started (twice a week for one hour), but they are rather informal with games, songs or funny videos. Next week I will also start with German classes for traveling and the week after Sabrina is going to begin with Italian classes. In August I want to do a Japanese class, as well. Soon, there will be a movie night with films in English every Wednesday. 

Bild
These smiles are not fake. It really was funny!
At the moment I am doing a three day workshop "Creative Writing" in both English and Spanish. It is some kind of "Loesje"-Workshop. If you're interested in what this is about klick here.
All the workshops and classes we give are free of charge for the people.

And for all these activities we are designing poster to put them on Facebook or our website.
If there is an event (a band contest, for instance) we film it and cut a short video to upload on YouTube.

Well, this is basically what I am doing here :)



Leave a Reply.