After the week in Valladolid I went to the wonderful capital of Spain, Madrid. My aunt and uncle were visiting a friend there and I could stay at her house, as well. It was quite centrally located and so I could easily reach all the important sites of the city. 
The weather was simply splendid! 
I also visited the "Prado" one of the famous arts museums of Madrid. I owed this to my arts teacher from school, I reckon :)

When you travel alone you easily get into conversation with all different kinds of people. In Madrid I met a man in his mid-fourties on a bench. He was walking his dog and I was taking a rest. We started to talk, his English was quite good, because he has been to America for some years or so, and he told me his philosophy, how he achieved to be happy and eventually basically the whole story of his life. I couldn't quite believe it, though. It sounded made up, like in a drama or a hollywood movie. He told me he was an opera singer but has not always been one. Before, he studied in Italy, got a good job, was handsome and had a wonderful girlfriend. However, he wasn't happy, his girlfriend left him and he had to face serious problems. So he decided to start a whole new life and become an opera singer. When he was a little kid he had watched an opera and had been very impressed by the performance. He took this childish excitement and used it to fulfill his dream. And now, he sings in leading roles in the opera of Madrid and also abroad.
Sound very magical, right?
He gave me his name.
I googled him.
It is true.
He is an opera singer.

I still can't quite grasp this whole thing. It's just too fantastic...maybe, I should write a book about him!

I am a big fan of black and white fotografs. So, here you go!




Leave a Reply.