Pimping up the living room table!

Space in the cupboards? - Check
Space in the bathroom? - Check
Beds in the bedrooms? - Check
Heaters turned on? - Check

We were ready for our two new flatmates. 
Gwendoline and Florian are two french volunteers who are going to work in Ribadavia for two month. They participate in an European work experience project called "Leonardo da Vinci". Gwendoline will be with Sabrina and me in the office and Florian in the home for the elderly.
They arrived on Saturday and it made me remember how I felt, when I arrived. Excited but a little disoriented. They both speak a little Spanish and a little English. So basically we are communicating with a mix of...everything. I can see how they are listening and more or less understanding what people are saying. However, not every word. What's happening is that you try to give a sense to the words you do understand, try to connect them somehow, which most of the time works out but unfortunately not always. 
First night, first misunderstanding. Sabrina and I went to the dinner of the volunteers of the Noite Meiga. We had to buy tickets for that beforehand so we couldn't take Gwen and Flo with us. This caused some confusion and we felt like leaving them alone. Or at least I did. Well, this is something you also gotta learn when having language issues - to not be frustrated or feel bad about this kind of misunderstandings. 
The dinner was fun, everybody was in a good mood and people were loudly praising the Noite Meiga with rythmical songs and fervent speeches at the table. While everyone was eating their meat, I had to come up with something vegetarian to order and got scrumbled egg with mushrooms and too much tortilla as starter and too much bread while waiting for my food and too much pastries for desert. I rolled home. 
The next day I went running in the morning :D haha

Have you ever heard about upcycling? 
It means to create something new and even better out of something old. Based on "one's trash is another's treasure". I really enjoy doing work like that. 

Wall decoration:
Chair (or table if you place a piece of wood on top)

Sabrina and I were thinking of turning this upcycling thing in some kind of workshop. Could be very interesting...!
So search your trash and switch on your creativity!

Next time I'll tell you about the upcoming Japanese workshop!



Leave a Reply.