Yes, I know it is difficult to be a vegetarian in Spain. And, no, it is not impossible!

The fact that I eat neither fish nor meat does not mean I can never go out for dinner. The variety of food is simply not that big. It's true, though, in Galicia you don't find many vegetarians compared to Germany, for example. 
In Ribadavia are a couple of normal Spanish Restaurants and one Italian Restaurant. 
As typical for Spain, you can order a all kinds of tapas. They are served on big plates and everybody at the table can have a bit of everything. Mostly that's jamón (ham) and queso (cheese), ensaladilla rusa (a salad with mayonnaise and tuna), pulpo (octopus), gambas (shrimps), tortilla, ensalada (normal salad) and empanada (some kind of big pastry or pie with meat or tuna filling). Sometimes there are also croquetas or mushrooms for me. And there is always bread with it. Afterwards, the people like to drink a shot of either licor café, licor hierbas or licor créma de orujo. Everybody has a favourite. I like the herb one the most. It's quite strong but the crema one is too sweet and I don't like coffee.
Bild
This is the food we had on a surprise birthday party. It had a theme: superheros!!!
Here, the people eat very late and also party very late. So dinner at 10pm is absolutely normal and if you go to  a bar or club before 1am you will probably be the only one. Therefore the night ends at six in the morning (of course I'm talking about the weekends here). Unfortunatly, there is no club to dance in Ribadavia but a lot of bars to sit and have a chat and a drink. 
I will tell you a bit more about parties and music some other time!

At home I cook for myself and I have to say, I quite enjoy it, now, that I figuered out how to use the gas stove and oven without burning down the kitchen. I find everything I need in the supermarket and I can easily cook bigger amounts and put some of it in the freezer for another day. The water from the tub is not very good but we have a well with tasty water just a few meters down the road.
Annika
21/6/2013 10:21:19 pm

The food looks delicious!!! Yummy!

Reply



Leave a Reply.