It has been a while, so let's write a little something!
Last weeks creative writing workshop has been successful, although it would have been better with more people. We are planning to repeat it some other day. Here are some of the results: my favourite posters! 
The workshop was bilingual so we had posters in English and in Spanish about different topics. I found the techniques of developing such phrases as a group very interesting and I'm sure it will be helpful for future projects!

I'm enjoying the theatre festival very much! I will tell you all about it in my next post, when the festival is over!

Yesterday was holiday in Spain. Santiago Apostol. And normally, in the night from 24th to 25th they illuminate the cathedral of Santiago de Compostela and organise a big show with fireworks and hundreds of spectators. I did not go to Santiago because of the theatre festival here in Ribadavia. Sabrina (my flatmate) went there. And luckily she went by car. 
Because, as you probably already know, all the festivities were cancelled because of a terrible train accident close to Santiago with 80 deaths and many injured. It is all over the national and international news. One of the theatre shows here also has been cancelled and today we commemorated the victims in five minutes silence in Plaza Mayor.
It's a difficult time for everybody involved. The pictures are horrible. I am just happy that Sabrina and I did not go to Santiago on that train and I feel deeply sorry for all the families.

Sorry for this rather sad paragraph but I felt that I needed to write about this as it affects everyone in Galicia by some means or the other.
So to finish up: I gave my first German class! Unfortunatly only to two people, but well, maybe there will be more and if not it's also good. It is very interesting to teach your own language. You learn and become aware of things you never realized before, because you just didn't think about them while doing them. I started with basic phrases and German pronounciation. And hell...I would not want to learn my own language! There are so many exceptions to so many rules that the pronounciation seems to be simply random. It's also not easy to learn how to pronounce the vocals including ü,ö and ä in different words. And the soft "ch" causes difficulties, as well. However, I am not going to teach grammatics but only basic and useful words and phrases for people who want to travel to Germany.
Bild
This is the poster I made for the classes. It's in Gallego.



Leave a Reply.